The Fall

Our glory lies in the many times we rise, each time we fall

We meet failure in many ways, no matter how poised we are in our field. For some who believe in the above quote, failure is but a stepping stone that propels us to be better people. The problem however lies in the way we handle ourselves after we have failed.

For perfectionists who try to meet an expectation and impress a great deal of people, there is usually a negative reaction to failure. “What will they think of me now? My reputation is on the line. But i put my all in this. I’m really not good enough “. These are the thoughts that linger in their minds, and will most often than not, make them coil back into their shell. What they don’t understand is that we strive to be better after we have failed. The ability to psych ourselves up to get past the spoils is very key in our recovery.

Just a few days ago, I was given an emergency role to represent my school during a debate. After mounting the podium, i froze, i was tensed, I managed the worst performance ever in my life as a debater. Just there, I knew I had messed it all up. I cursed myself, I cried and my school lost. It’s probably the reason why I’m writing this piece. But it is also token, that I am stronger now with all the lessons from this incident.

Watch this space!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close